Communion / Without Reservation / Sea Change

A poetry collection by RC deWinter, December 2019

RC deWinter’s poetry is anthologized in Uno: A Poetry Anthology (Verian Thomas, 2002), New York City Haiku (NY Times, 2017), Cowboys & Cocktails: Poetry from the True Grit Saloon (Brick Street Poetry, April 2019), Havik (Las Positas College, May 2019), Castabout Literature (Dantoin/Hilgart, June 2019), The Flickering Light (Scars Publications, June 2019), Pointed Circle (Portland Cascades Community College, June 2019) Nature In The Now (Tiny Seed Press, August 2019), in print in 2River, borrowed solace, Genre Urban Arts, Gravitas, In Parentheses, Meat For Tea: The Valley Review, Pink Panther Magazine, Southword 37 and appears in numerous online literary journals.

communion

let’s go my darling   on a quiet walk to nowhere   to everywhere
    the world awaits   no need for words
we’ll simply   be   together
   in time  in space   in love

the world awaits   no need for words
   as we wander   exploring the fierce beauty of this garden
in time   in space   in love
   we’ll know the perfection of circles completed

as we wander   exploring the fierce beauty of this garden
   fingers entwined in love knots of forever
we’ll know the perfection of circles completed
   in the silence of devotion

fingers entwined in love knots of forever
   we’ll simply   be   together
in the silence of devotion

   let’s go my darling   on a quiet walk to nowhere   to everywhere


without reservation

whenever
the house is
quiet i know where
you are   in
the study on the settee
   head in hands   brooding

i watch you
silently from the
doorway   you
probably
know i’m there
but make no acknowledgment
   i don’t expect one

i know there
are things you cannot
share and would
not even
if you could   you carry the
secrets of what lies

beneath the
frosting of the world
   the darkness
of what we
call diplomacy   but is
really something else

entirely
   memories nothing
can erase
etched in your
brain   your bones  your very soul
   for which there is no

forgiveness
   so i offer none
but when you
come to me
    wrapping me in the blanket 
of your sorrow   i

take the pain
   and refashion it
with my lips
reminding
you i love everything that
makes you who you are


Sea Change

As you handed me your soul
you said, “I used to think
I would go to the sea.
Now I will run to you.”

You said, “I used to think
I’d always be alone –
now I will run to you,”
as you kissed my saltwater cheeks.

I’d always be alone
if not for you.
As you kissed my saltwater cheeks
I promised to be your ocean.

If not for you
I would go to the sea.
I promised to be your ocean
as you handed me your soul.